St. John’s Terminal
Ties in the Sky
550 Washington was once the terminus for the New York Central Railroad, which ran along Tenth and Eleventh Avenues staring in the 1850s, and shipped commodities such as coal, dairy products, and beef. Eventually, the train tracks were elevated to improve traffic congestion and pedestrian safety. Today, these elevated rain tracks comprise the Highline park. 550 Washington's lobby desks and retaining wall features are constructed of reclaimed timbers. These timbers evoke the character of railroad ties and connect us back to the heritage and materiality of St. John’s Terminal.

Terminus of the High Line at St. John's Terminal circa 1937.

A train on the High Line in 1953.

St. John's Freight Terminal at Hudson and Laight St.